IWMP Implementation

The IWMP will be implemented by the West Bengal Agriculture Department (WBAD) through the autonomous Society namely “West Bengal State Watershed Development Agency” (WBSWDA), which will function as the State Level Nodal Agency (SLNA). The Society has a Governing Body, which is the highest decision-making institution within the Society. The Society has a Chief Executive Officer, who also functions as the Secretary of the Society and is responsible for implementation of IWMP through the WBSWDA Secretariat.

A separate Cell, called the Watershed Cell cum Data Centre (WCDC) at the district level, oversees the implementation of watershed development programme in each district. The District Magistrate is designated as Chairperson of WCDC.

There may be a number of Project Implementing Agencies (PIAs) in a district and may include relevant line departments, autonomous organizations under State / Central Governments, Government Institutes / Research Bodies, Intermediate Panchayat, Voluntary Organizations (VOs) / State Agriculture Universities / Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs). Each PIA must put in position a dedicated Watershed Development Team (WDT). The WDT will be hired on contract / deputation / transfer etc for a term not exceeding the project period. The WDT shall not exceed 15 members, including four hired ones, covering all the relevant line departments.

Most of project activities at the village level shall be undertaken with active participation of people’s institutions. These activities shall be started with Community Mobilization. Project activities shall be undertaken by following peoples’ bodies:

  • Gram Sabha through Watershed Associations (WA) 
  • Watershed Committee (WC) as the executive body of the WA
  • Self-Help Groups (SHGs)
  • User Groups (UGs)